Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast

Thread: ***Space Thread***

***Space Thread***

Don't know if it's worth a thread but why not ?
    When I was a child I wanted to be an astronaut and with a friend we drew sketches imagining our spaceship and made stories out of it.

I'm not a scientist, something I wish I studied more science, I'm mostly ignorant. However, I love looking at amazing pictures of stars, asteroids, new planets and so on... Kind of made me dream again...

Anyway, this summer I read an article about the discorevy of new planet orbiting two suns, which presents double sunset... doesn't make you remember of something...
    Well, unlike of Star Wars’ Tatooine, the planet is cold, gaseous and not with possible life.

see 2 videos of the planet here on NASA site

A picture I've just looked today, which I found really beautiful :

Asteroid Lutetia. Some parts of its surface are around 3.6 billion years old. (information can be read here)

Replacing Luck Since 1984 Dukefrukem's Avatar
    i love space discussions... but i dont like trying to comprehend the size of our universe. To help me convey this point, I bring you my favorite youtube video.

[youtube]mcBV-cXVWFw[/youtube]
    Twitch / Youtube / Film Diary

Quote Quoting D_Davis (view post)
    Uwe Boll movies > all Marvel U movies
    Quote Quoting TGM (view post)
    I work in grocery. I have not gotten sick. My fellow employees have not gotten sick. If the virus were even remotely as contagious as its being presented as, why haven’t entire store staffs who come into contact with hundreds of people per day, thousands per week, all falling ill in mass nationwide?

Don't know why but the video made me remember of The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy... :P

Russian Mars probe stuck in Earth's orbit after engines fail to fire
    Spacecraft was to visit Martian moon of Phobos and bring back soil sample but looks like joining list of failed red planet missions

read more here