Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Enter the 36 Chambers: My Lifelong Obsession with the Wu-Tang Clan

Ain't that just the way EyesWideOpen's Avatar

Enter the 36 Chambers: My Lifelong Obsession with the Wu-Tang Clan

9 Members. All with unique flows, lyrics and personalities. They have a library of close to 100 group and solo albums. Their first album came out in 1993 and every member except for the deceased Ol' Dirty Bastard is still releasing music to this day.

My introduction to the Wu-Tang Clan was with the Method Man music video "Bring the Pain". I was a freshman in high school and the hip-hop I was listening to at the time was mostly G Funk/West Coast stuff popular at my school (Dr. Dre, Snoop, Eazy E, Ice Cube, etc). And here was Method Man in a low production video looking homeless, crazy and with one clear eye with a style and dusty flow I hadn't heard before. I immediately went down to the mall music store and bought the cassette single.

Now I'm 32 and I've never stopped listening to them. Through the group and solo albums I don't think I've gone a month in my life where I haven't listened to a Wu-Tang song. I've went from high school where I was almost solely listening to hip-hop, to a punk phase, and then listening to all different types of music but Wu-Tang has always been my constant. I can always hear a Wu song and be sucked right back in.

I wanted to make a thread where I go through and break down my thoughts on each album. I know their are some fans around here who dropped off the Wu-Tang train a long time ago and some people who have never heard their music so I'll link to songs/videos when available. Hope you all enjoy.

Scores so far:
    [
    ]
    TV Recently Finished:
    Catastrophe: Season 1 (2015) A
    Rectify: Season 3 (2015) A-
    Bojack Horseman: Season 2 (2015) A
    True Detective: Season 2 (2015) A-
    Wayward Pines: Season 1 (2015) B

Currently Playing: Viva Pinata: Trouble in Paradise (replay) (XB1) / Contradiction (PC)