PDA

View Full Version : OJ: Made in America (Ezra Edelman)

Watashi
06-17-2016, 07:53 PM
http://static.rogerebert.com/uploads/movie/movie_poster/oj-made-in-america-2016/large_3nyt5niDxXMNGfKlXQ2XmB9h CUn.jpg

Lazlo
06-18-2016, 01:31 PM
This could technically get moved to the 2016 movie thread. It premiered at Sundance and ran for a week in NY and LA to qualify for Oscars.

I'm through part three and it's mesmerizing. As a sports documentary producer I'm in awe of what they've done here.

Watashi
06-18-2016, 05:36 PM
Why was this moved? It premiered at Sundance.

Lazlo
06-18-2016, 07:05 PM

And played in a limited theatrical run in May.

Finished this today. Magnificent, frustrating, so so much to unpack.

number8
06-20-2016, 02:41 PM

It's not the first TV show to premiere at Sundance or get a theatrical release (see: Top of the Lake). I moved it because it's a 30 for 30 series. But I can move it back if that doesn't seem right.

Lazlo
06-20-2016, 03:09 PM
It's not the first TV show to premiere at Sundance or get a theatrical release (see: Top of the Lake). I moved it because it's a 30 for 30 series. But I can move it back if that doesn't seem right.

It's going to be pushed for Oscars. I think it's more similar to the case of Going Clear than Top of the Lake. I don't think Top of the Lake played in movie theaters outside of a couple of festivals. I feel like many people will be including Made in America in year-end movie lists in a way that gives it the feel that it should be in the movies section rather than TV.

But your argument is sound too. It was always produced with the main goal of showing it on TV rather than theatrically, though I read an interview with Edelman where he said they put no thought into commercial break placement. But I for one will be considering it as a movie.

Watashi
06-20-2016, 03:27 PM
I considered it in the same mold as The Dekalog or Shoah.

Winston*
06-20-2016, 08:53 PM
Why does it matter?

I'm 3 hours in. This is outstanding.